Files made using Chris Hills's MidiPlay

Hugh Blair (Ed. Ivor Atkins)

Magnificat & Nunc dimittis in B minor
Ivor Atkins version

You can freely and lawfully download a printable score for this Work from CPDL - the Choral Public Domain Library - though it may not be exactly the same as the one used to make the Midi Files below, and it probably won't be as good as a proper paid-for engraved and printed score.

There is an excellent performance of this Work by Emanuel School Chapel Choir conducted by Jonathan Holmes on YouTube starting here.

This service, composed for Worcester Cathedral, was written in January 1887. The original version was published in 1908 and appears in English Church Music, Volume 2 (OUP). It was considerably revised and expanded in March 1892 by Ivor Atkins, then Organist of Hereford Cathedral, later Blair's successor at Worcester Cathedral. The revised version was published in 1933, after Blair's death, and is the version more frequently heard today. It is the one provided here. If you wish to hear the original version rather than the Atkins one, then you can find it here

Here is a "clickable" Table of the available Midi Files for this Work.

In these Files the Choir is divided into Decani and Cantoris sections. The Voices are also divided into Choir 1 and Choir 2 ... and, though this may not be as it is done for real, here it is assumed that the Decani Voices are Choir 1, while the Cantoris Voices are Choir 2.

Magnificat & Nunc dimittis in B minor (Ed. Ivor Atkins)
  Decani & Choir 1 Cantoris & Choir 2
UNemphasized Soprano 1  Alto 1  Tenor 1  Bass 1  Soprano 2  Alto 2  Tenor 2  Bass 2 
Magnificat yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Nunc dimittis yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes

That's the end of the Work.

And if something doesn't work properly, please let me know (see the "Comments" section of my Homepage).

Back to Composer

Files originally uploaded in Apr/20.