Files "cleaned" originally

Joseph Horovitz


There is an excellent performance of this Work by the Thisted Kirkes Drenge Mandskor and the Nordvestjysk Brass Band 1999 on YouTube starting here.

Here is a "clickable" Table of the available Midi Files for this Work. In a few places in the Score some of the Voices are divided; they are not so divided here. Moreover, there is quite a bit of percussion in the Work, and although Midi can handle percussion it has NOT been implemented on this occasion - though there has been inserted the odd timp at some of the relevant places. However, there's not much Midi can do about the speaking and the shouting - though there are included a few "noises" as a substitute.

The Work is more or less continuous, rather than in clearly separate sections. For the purpose of these Files it has been divided fairly arbitrarily into three portions at what is hoped will be convenient places identified by the relevant Rehearsal Figures/Marks.

Warning: The proper, bought, Score from which the Midi Files were prepared is apparently a photographically-printed hand-drawn Score, not a type-set, engraved, one. In many places, and especially in the chords of the piano reduction, it is not at all clear where the notes are on the staves, or to which notes the accidentals apply. The Midis may well be wrong, and sound odd not because the Work is meant to but because the notes were entered incorrectly. You have been warned!

Work Name
UNemphasized Soprano  Alto  Tenor  Bass 
1: In the prison yard
    Figures [start] to [20]
yes yes yes yes
2: Judge Samson they call'd me
    Figures [20] to [27]
yes yes yes yes
3: In the prison yard
    Figures [28] to [end]
yes yes yes yes

And if something doesn't work properly, please let me know (see the "Comments" section of my Homepage).

Back to Composer

Files originally uploaded in May/16.