Files "cleaned" originally

Gian-Carlo Menotti

Amahl and the Night Visitors

If you know of a Website from which can freely and lawfully be downloaded a printable score for this Work, even though it may not be exactly the same as the one used to make the Midi Files below, please let me know the address.

There is a competent performance of this Work on YouTube starting here.

The Work does not break comfortably into sections, so to prepare it in chunks it is really necessary to make many of them overlap - the end of one chunk being the same as the beginning of the next. This has been done in several the Files below. Initially the only Files provided were those relating to the Chorus (and with only a piano "backing"). Subsequently the remaining Sections (with "orchestral" backing) were added.

The Work is essentially operatic, and because of the very nature of opera - and specifically frequent changes in tempo (primarily to match the cadences of the spoken voice) - is not easy to format in Midi form. Still, I've done my best!

Here is a "clickable" Table of the available Midi Files for this Work (the ones that aren't links are the ones I haven't done yet):-

Amahl and the Night Visitors
UNemphasized Soprano  Alto  Tenor  Bass 
The Star
Don't cry, Mother.
None None None None
The Three Kings
Good evening!
None None None None
The Kings enter
It is nice here
Are you a real King?
This is my box
Oh, those beautiful things
None None None None
Have you seen a Child?
The shepherds are coming
yes yes yes yes
The Dance None None None None
Thank you, good friends
All that gold!
For my child
Don't you dare!
Keep the gold
Take my crutch
I can walk
I can dance
yes yes yes yes
I can dance
May I touch you?
I shall miss you
Shepherds, arise!
yes yes yes yes

That's the end of the Work.

And if something doesn't work properly, please let me know (see the "Comments" section of my Homepage).

Back to Composer

Files originally uploaded in Sep/12. Additional bits uploaded Dec/12